Wildcat Rugby History

Abilene Christian University rugby club was formed by Juan Escobedo and Aaron Pokluda in the fall of 2015. Originally a student organization, the Club merged with the athletic department of Abilene Christian in 2017.


The ACU women's rugby club was formed in January 2017 and made their game debut April 2017 at University of Texas Dallas 7s tournament. The team continues to grow and competes in 10s and 7s style gameplay with the goal of a 15s season in the future.

Wildcat rugby has achieved numerous accolades in the Division II Lonestar conference. These include one playoff appearance, 11 all stars, one NSCRO player of the month, and a community repertoire unrivaled by any organization in Abilene.

Wilcat Rugby's Motto is

Conference Information

Wildcat Men's and Women's teams compete in USA Rugby DII Lone Star Conference. The LoneStar Conference (LSC) and LoneStar Women's Conference (LSWC) is committed to being the premier Collegiate Rugby Conferences in Texas.  Its’ mission is to cultivate, educate, and promote the sport of rugby, while instilling pride, life long values and self confidence.  The Conferences came about due to USA Rugby mandating that all college programs separate from their territorial Unions and become their own silos.  

So in 2012, the LSC was formed by the Texas Rugby Union Collegiate Representative, Shayne Roberson, as a place for colleges to play.  It is currently made up of 14 collegiate men’s programs.  The LSWC was formed in 2013 also by Shayne and currently made up of 11 collegiate women’s programs.  The LSC and LSWC offers its clubs two different playoff pathways to a National Championship, one through NSCRO (National Small College Rugby Organization) and one through USA Rugby DII.